Salvias Red leaves at the top

Hello all, newbie here going by the name of chris.
I have 5 Salvias, Love Wish, Cherry Lips, Amethyst Lips,Hot Lips and Amistad, all in pots besides the Hot Lips.
We have more plants and Shrubs. But I like the Salvia plants/shrubs?
I have a problem with the Amistad all the growth has gone to the top with some red coloured leaves and new growth at the bottom.
I don’t know what is going on. I don’t over water.
Can someone help please? I would put a pic up but don’t know how to do this on here.
Thanks in advance and

1 Like

Hi Chris,

Welcome to the site! This is normal for this time of year. As the plants grow taller the leaves lower down aren’t used as much by the plant as those near the top, so they start to shed the lower leaves. I find that this can speed up a bit if the plant is a little on the dry side, but I really wouldn’t worry about this at all. If the look bothers you, you can always pinch out the growing points in the earlier months of the year in spring next year to try and keep it a bit more compact.

Right now though, I wouldn’t do anything and just leave it to do its thing as we head into Autumn :slight_smile:

Jack

2 Likes

Thanks Jack, I came to this site because of your love of Salvias, it is only one that is bothering me. Although winter care is going to be a worry as I haven’t gone through a winter with them, so if you can point me to the important info, in particular for my 5. I haven’t got a green house.
Anyway thank you for your help and I’ll keep looking for more advice. BFN Chris

1 Like

Useful advice for all of us Jack. I have lots of Amistad and all the Dyson salvias. I had an Amistad that I completely ignored and neglected in a pot in a corner and blow me down it has thrived and flowered better than the ones I had cosseted. Seems they are indestructible if they are kept warm and dry.

1 Like