Pruning fruit trees

Hi

I’m pretty new to gardening. I’ve recently bought a house with a mature garden and am trying my best to stay on top of it (although I have plans to turn half into a physic garden next year).

I have two trees which need a bit of a trim but I’m not sure where to start:

• a small apple tree which has only produced a couple of apples this year. I’ve just cut it away from its stake as I’d noticed the cable was strangling the tree. Should I try to keep it small so it can build up some strength?

• a mature plum tree. It’s fruited really heavily this summer but I think I’ve picked the last of it now. It was once trained against the fence but this has now rotted away so it’s freestanding but quite linear. I haven’t pruned it at all yet and don’t really know where to start.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Rhona

2 Likes

Hi Rhona, I always recommend that people go on a pruning course if they possibly can (obviously a bit difficult at the moment). There’s a few basic principles of pruning I found much easier to grasp in person rather than from a book. Also, best to get expert advice rather than generalist opinion from someone like myself :wink:.

You need to keep the stake on the apple tree if it’s a dwarfing rootstock (the rootstock determines the height & vigour of the tree, for more info Orange Pippin Fruit Trees. Also, the cable ought to be a thick, soft pliable plastic that doesn’t strangle the tree! (something like this).

Generally, you prune an apple tree in winter for the shape, although you can prune now. The 2 main shapes are ‘goblet’ and ‘xmas tree’; xmas tree is single central leader used more in commercial orchards, whereas a goblet is a prettier shape with nicer branches for climbing!

With a plum tree, never prune in winter because of diseases, always prune just after fruiting.

Hope that helps!

Hi Rhona,