New Allotmenteer!

Good evening,

I am 24 years old and have just kindly had an allotment handed over to me from a guy in my village. I have grown some veggies such as tomatoes, carrots and spring onions in the back garden before although, I am completely new to Allotments!!

Any tips, tricks or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, Leanne!! x

4 Likes

Welcome Leanne!

Lucky you!!! I think this is a great time to take stock of your new plot and figure out what is already there and what you want to grow - a blank slate can be daunting but also lots of fun.

Although I don’t have an allotment (my house came with large overgrown garden), I think starting off with smaller goals is the same for both; it is easy to get overwhelmed trying to sort the whole thing at once. Also, talk to your fellow allotment holders - they have a wealth of information and experience about what grows best on your plot/area and any policies/restrictions you need to be aware of.

Come on allotment people - any suggestions for Leanne?

2 Likes

Don’t let it make you feel guilty. I really hope you enjoy every minute of having the allotment, very good luck to you. I was too lazy to get mine going but I do admire people who do. Julie

3 Likes

Hello Leanne - how exciting for you… I got an allotment 4 years ago, and I’d never grown any veg before other than tomatoes in a grow bag in my back garden.

Here are some tips:

Start on just one part of it, rather than trying to grow things all over.
Talk to other plot holders - they’ll be happy to give you advice / seedlings / details of seed swaps etc.
Think about ‘no dig’ - check out Charles Dowding’s videos - even if you don’t do no dig he has loads of brilliant advice from sowing seeds to making compost and everything in between
Having good soil is the key - so this autumn put loads of manure on your plot - or part of it! That way things will grow really well next year