New allotment, need advice on how to clear the area and best make use of the land

Any tips on what to do with this new plot? Large area full of grass and weeds. I am new to this and never grown my own vegetables. Do I rotivate the land of hand pick all the weeds? How is it best to make use of this land

1 Like

i’ve just seen a video from charles dowding making a new no-dig bed by laying out cardboard (to suppress weeds) and compost 8n top of it. there are lots of videos of him on youtube and facebook, and of course great books too! :slight_smile: i definetly would try this.

3 Likes

Dependant on the size of your plot Nicola, you may want to divide it up a bit before you start.

If its a big plot, and you don’t think you will get to all of it this year, invest in some heavy duty weed mat and cover the area you don’t want to use. This will kill off the grass and give you an area to work from if you want to build or store anything in the mean time.

For the other areas, give it a good mow first to see what you have - you can use the weedy grass for paths, and the more you mow them, the better they will become. Mark out the beds you want and then give them a dig by hand - this way you can watch out for cooch grass or bind weed.

Make sure you plan for everything you want on your plot - greenhouse or polytunnel? shed? trees? somewhere to sit? and account for that space when you’re setting up.

And good luck!

1 Like

Plan in three dimensions - find out what the maximum allowed height of trees is on your plot and plan for some fruit trees or similar.

2 Likes

Hi Nicola

How exciting!

As suggested by someone else, tackle a manageable area first.
If you try to do it all at once, it might become overwhelming.
You could probably grow some things in containers for the time being, until you decide on the overall plan, if your allotment is quite secure.

Other than that, I would suggest:

• Think about what you want to grow, what you like to eat.