Big Shed Project

First day on my big build project, with a mark out and pits dug for the foundation blocks.

Also got to collect all my window panels for free from a building site who were ready to chuck them in a skip!

Still on the look out for a set of double glazed patio doors in a frame… Back on with the search!

1 Like

Very exciting to see how this develops! Thanks for sharing it and goodluck with finding the double doors!

Great! I love such upcycling projects! Looking forward to see more :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Bit of a wet cold weekend down here, so not much to be done on the plot to move this forwards.

Insted, collecting of parts continues, and today I bagged a bit piece of the final finish (may be a little early) in a wood burning stove to keep the place warm and toasty whilst I work in it.

at 6kW capacity, its a bit oversized for the space, but came with flue pipe for a good price!

Looking forwards to having this all finished and the stove burning so cold wet days are no longer a problem!

2 Likes

Sweet, that is very cool!

Sorry for the delay in updating but things moved on quite a bit…

Ended up having to move the shed build to another bit of the plot, which meant a couple of weeks of clearing brambles and other over grown weeds. Having done this I could start on the base.

The base is made of 4" x 5" treated fence posts, set on M16 studding, which is in turn set in 150mm x 700mm bored holes filled with concrete.

The studding has allowed for absolute leveling on the uneven ground at the back of the plot.

Once the base was complete and leveled, I added the joist units

These were found units made of 4" x 2", to which I added a 6mm plywood backing (also out of a skip) - you’ll see why I added this later

Once the joist units were set, I added rockwool Insulation.

This will keep the floating floor from being a cold sink in winter, and stop the floor surface acting like a drum skin when I walk on it